The ANZSIL International Human Rights Law Interest Group (IHRLIG) was established in 2022. The IHRLIG aims to foster a community of human rights academics and practitioners, by holding events and developing networks to share research on the theory and practice of human rights. By providing a forum for debate and research collaboration amongst ANZSIL members and the broader international human rights law community, the IHRLIG seeks to contribute to the strengthening of systems and processes for promoting human rights. The group encourages the involvement of graduate students and early-career researchers. IHRLIG members are engaged in research areas such as:

  • Theories of human rights
  • Interdisciplinary research on international human rights law, including anthropological, sociological and political perspectives
  • Comparative research on human rights systems
  • The effectiveness of UN human rights treaties and issues of compliance
  • The relationship between international human rights law and domestic law, particularly constitutional and public law
  • The interaction of international human rights law and other specialised bodies of international law such as international criminal law, international law of peacekeeping, international environmental law, international economic law, international law on peace and security and international humanitarian law.

Events and activities

The IHRLIG welcomes proposals from individuals and institutions for joint events and activities and will promote upcoming events via the Events page.


The co-chairs of the IHRLIG are:

Professor Catherine Renshaw, Western Sydney University (2022 - 2024)

Dr Lidya Ayaubi, AUT, NZ (2023 - 2025)

The co-chairs are supported by a committee comprising Suzanne Varrall, Lindsey Stevenson, Diana Qui and Ravi Vyas.

Contact us:

ANZSIL Secretariat | Centre for International and Public Law 
ANU College of Law | The Australian National University | 5 Fellows Road | Canberra ACT 2601

ABN: 94 662 977 865 

© 2008-2015 Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law.
Images reproduced with the permission of the ANU College of Law, Australian National University and Law Faculty, Victorian University of Wellington.
Please direct all enquiries to: ANZSIL Secretariat | Page authorised by President, ANZSIL
The Australian National University - CRICOS Provider Number: 00120C.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software