The ANZSIL International Economic Law Interest Group (IELIG) was established in 2011 to provide a forum for those interested in international economic law, especially international regulation of trade, investment, intellectual property and monetary law. The work of the interest group covers all areas of international economic law and its implementation in domestic law, embracing both theoretical and practical aspects. The IELIG aims to maintain relevance for practitioners and academics alike and encourages discussion and exchange of ideas among all those involved in this field. 

Events and activities

The IELIG holds an annual symposium in the area of international trade and economic law, which encourages open and frank discussion between government, the profession and academics on trade law issues around the world. Eminent speakers and panellists discuss recent developments in trade law, regional and free trade agreements and other topical issues such as sanctions, corruption and anti-dumping measures. Links to the programs and proceedings from previous symposia can be found on the Events page.


The IELIG is coordinated by two Co-Chairs, elected by IELIG members for a two-year period. The current office holders are:

Dr Christian Riffel, University of Canterbury (Co-Chair) (2022 - 2024)
Dr Esmé Shirlow, ANU (Co-Chair) (2022 - 2024)

Contact us:

ANZSIL Secretariat | Centre for International and Public Law 
ANU College of Law | The Australian National University | 5 Fellows Road | Canberra ACT 2601

ABN: 94 662 977 865 

© 2008-2015 Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law.
Images reproduced with the permission of the ANU College of Law, Australian National University and Law Faculty, Victorian University of Wellington.
Please direct all enquiries to: ANZSIL Secretariat | Page authorised by President, ANZSIL
The Australian National University - CRICOS Provider Number: 00120C.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software